TRAVEL with pat and lew

* Avis round 2 … Avis tries harder to cheat me every way they can … and when they’re found out, they make the refund

Posted by Lew Weinstein on May 16, 2010

Avis adds an extra day and an incorrect fuel charge

to a bill they said was “final” …

and once again inflates the euro-to-dollar conversion rate

******

UPDATE … Avis has issued a refund

for the full amount of the overcharge.

*******

.

Before I knew the devious way Avis cheats its customers on the euro conversion (see * caution to Avis car renters in Europe … Avis purposely and systematically over-charges the conversion of your bill from euros to dollars), I had another car rental with Avis.

It was even worse than the 1st time …

Not only did they again jack up the euro conversion, even though, this time, I specifically asked to be billed in euros and not dollars, they also …

  • added an extra day car rental to the bill even though I returned the car precisely when the rental agreement said it should be returned
  • added a fuel charge even though I returned the car with a full tank
  • changed the bill even after I had asked and been told that the bill I had in my hand (from the time I picked up the car) was the final bill

What kind of company is this?

Once again, Avis has agreed to take all the extra charges off the bill, or at least they have submitted the adjustment for approval.

But what about all the people who don’t check their bills?

******

Leave a Reply

 
